ETWD Welcomes New Board Members, selects Jose Vergara as President

Lake Forest, CA — Newly elected directors Kathryn Freshley and Mike Gaskins were sworn into office at the December 20, 2018, ETWD Board meeting.  The Board also selected Director Jose Vergara to serve as president of the Board and Mark Monin to serve as the vice president of the Board.

President Vergara has served on the board since 2012 and has over 40 years of professional experience.  His experience includes 25 years as a Water Resources Engineer at the Metropolitan Water District of Southern California.  Jose currently chairs the District’s engineering committee.  He has served as Chair of the Water Advisory Committee of Orange County (WACO) and represents ETWD on the Water Reuse committee.

“I am truly honored to be chosen by my fellow directors to serve as Board President,” said Vergara. “ETWD delivers a high level of public service to its constituents and I look forward to leading the District into the next chapter of our proud history.”

Vice President Monin has served on the board since 2015 and his expertise in fiscal responsibility spans over 36 years in the investment management industry.  Mark currently serves on the Finance/Insurance and Audit Committees.  In 2018, Mark began a two year term as the 1st Vice President of the Independent Special Districts of Orange County (ISDOC).  Mark is also a member of the Association of California Water Agencies Finance, Energy, and Business Development Committees.

Ms. Freshley was appointed to the board in July 2018 and elected for the first time in November 2018.  Kathryn has over 40 years of professional experience in executive management, engineering, business/strategic planning and financial control systems. Her professional experience includes 23 years working for the General Electric Company, starting a distribution business and worked in management consulting.  Kathryn recently served as the Alternate Public Member of the Orange County Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) and served nine years on the Laguna Woods Village mutual boards.

Mr. Gaskins is a Vietnam Veteran and has over 40 years of professional experience as a civil servant.  For 18 years Mike was a labor relations representative negotiating MOUs with employee associations in the public sector across Southern California.  Mike’s experience also includes Human Resources Director for the City of Montebello, Water Quality Chemist/Microbiologist for Santa Margarita Water District and science teacher for the Capistrano Unified School District.

“Director Freshley’s experience serving her local community and Director Gaskin’s professional experience will be a huge asset to the district and the community it serves,” said General Manager, Bob Hill.

Board Member Jose Vergara

ETWD President, Jose Vergara
ETWD Vice President, Mark Monin

New ETWD Director, Kathryn Freshley

New ETWD Director, Mike Gaskins


About ETWD

The El Toro Water District is a District of Distinction accredited by the Special District Leadership Foundation because of its commitment to good governance and to ethical and sound operating practices. ETWD provides full‐service potable water, wastewater and recycled water for use across portions of the cities of Aliso Viejo, Lake Forest, Laguna Hills and Mission Viejo and the entire city of Laguna Woods. ETWD is governed by a five member Board of Directors. The district’s mission is to provide its customers a safe, adequate and reliable supply of water, wastewater and recycled water service in an environmentally and economically responsible way.



Comments are closed.