Board of Director’s Compensation

The El Toro Water District is governed by a five member Board of Directors who are elected by the general public at large. Each Director serves a four year staggered term. In order to qualify for membership on the board applicants must have their principal residence within our service area, be at least 18 years of age, and have a desire to serve their community. Directors represent the public and establish administrative, operational and financial policies and procedures under which the District operates. Board members do not receive medical insurance, pension benefits or any post retirement benefits. They do receive the following compensation:

Daily per diem: Each Board member earns $219 per day of service, with a maximum of ten days of paid service per month. While many Board members participate in more than ten meetings per month, their compensation is limited to ten meetings per month.

Insurance: Each Board member participates with regular full time employees in the District’s dental and vision insurance plans. They also are offered an individually underwritten long-term care insurance policy and receive $10,000 ($5,000 if over 70 years of age) in term life insurance. Insurance coverage remains in force during their term in office.


2020 Per Diem & Insurance
Director Name
Per Diem


Katherine Havens
Mark Monin
Michael Gaskins
Jose Vergara
Kathryn Freshley